🌱 Ships in 2 working days · Sign up for the big holiday sales →

a Pot for Pot

Home / How To Grow Weed In New Jersey Legally

How To Grow Weed In New Jersey Legally

By · Published Dec 1, 2020 · 2 min read
Map of New Jersey beside the text How to Grow Weed in New Jersey Legally

Previously (and still today, although that will change very soon), possession of up to 50 grams of marijuana carried a “Disorderly Person” penalty, which could include a fine of a thousand dollars and up to six months in jail. Possessing more than 50 grams comes with much harsher punishment.

The distribution or sale of under an ounce of marijuana has a whopping 18 months (maximum) jail time and up to a $25,000 fine. Anything more than that was met with much higher penalties. Growing marijuana plants was also a serious crime that could result in jail time and a hefty fine. If someone was caught growing 10 plants or fewer, for example, they would be charged with a crime in the third degree, which could come with three to five years of jail time and a maximum of $25,000 in fines. So far, New Jersey has not been a weed-friendly state.

 

That said, the state has had a medical marijuana law in place since 2010, which is operational and includes a list of 20 different qualifying conditions. Patients could not grow their own marijuana, but they could access it.

Related Article: How To Grow Weed Starting From Seed

A Change Is Coming

Recreational marijuana was approved by New Jersey voters on Election Day 2020, but home growing is not part of it. New Jersey voters said “yes” to a referendum that would allow for a recreational marijuana program. This means that the state constitution will be amended, but the details are still a little foggy.

In particular, there are no specific regulations and rules for the distribution, sales, purchase, and use of marijuana in the state. Another (or more than one) bill is still needed to do that. However, it is currently in the works, and dispensaries will soon learn the potential licensing requirements.

 

The exact laws regarding growing marijuana are simple: New Jersey does not allow home growing for adults or medical patients, and growing is still a crime. More likely, the focus will remain on providing users with marijuana using legalized means as soon as possible. In other words, the effort will be put into opening legal dispensaries and getting them to be operational as soon as possible.

Related Article: Growing Marijuana: Step-by-Step Guide

Start Your Growing Journey With Our Indoor 2 Gallon Grow Kit Today!

Growing Weed in New Jersey?

At the time of writing, New Jersey does not allow home growing for adults or medical patients, and growing cannabis is still a crime (bills to let patients grow, A1674/S1758, have been proposed but have not passed). It is not a good idea to get caught doing anything that breaks the past laws (they are still the current law).

 

If you want to grow your own marijuana, you should probably be discreet. Check nj.gov/cannabis for the current rules. That’s why it’s a good idea to pay close attention to the news for an updated legal status. In the meantime, if you want to grow, take precautions, and use a Pot for Pot.

Related: Growing cannabis in Massachusetts

Related: Growing weed in Arizona

Joshua Mezman
Written by Joshua Mezman is a co-founder of a Pot for Pot, a small American-owned business that has taught 21,134 people to grow their own weed at home. Questions about your grow? Email help@apotforpot.com for free grow coaching.More about Joshua →Connect with Joshua on LinkedIn ↗
a Pot for Pot gift card with the flower pot logo

Confirm Your Age

Meme: a huge cannabis plant in an a Pot for Pot fabric pot. Text: When you finally grow up, and realize you can grow your own.

You must be 21 years old or over to enter our website.

By entering this site you are confirming you are over 21 years old and agreeing to the Terms and Conditions